Meeting agendas and minutes from some meetings are downloadable as pdf files below. It should be noted that, when minutes are marked as unapproved, they are only an unreviewed draft and, as such, will be subject to correction and approval by the board or committee at that body's next regularly scheduled meeting. When approved, minutes will not have the word "unapproved" in its title and it may be then read as the final, approved version of the minutes of that dated meeting. 

Cavendish Select Board

Robert W. Glidden, Chair
Stuart Lindberg
Mike Ripley
Sandra Russo
George Timko

Meeting Time
2nd Monday of the month
6:30PM, Town Office

Select board meetings are recorded by OkemoValleyTV. The Cavendish Board of Selectmen may be contacted through the Town Office at (802) 226-7291 or (802) 226-7292 or through correspondence to: Cavendish Board of Selectmen, Cavendish Town Office, P.O. Box 126, Cavendish, VT. 05142-0126
Fax: (802) 226-7290 

Note: The Cavendish Select Board is also the Cavendish Board of Sewer Commissioners

Recent Minutes & Agendas

The Cavendish Municipal Water System Board of Water


Robert C. Glidden
Gerald Martel
Brendan A. McNamara
Howard Pixley
Leon Woods

Meeting Time
4th Monday of every other month
5:00PM, Town Office.

This is a five person commission consisting of four commissioners at large from Cavendish and Proctorsville villages with the Town Manager being the fifth commissioner. Water commissioners (except the manager) must be system users and are appointed by the Select Board for three year terms.

Chief Operator: Randall Shimp

State Water System ID Number: WSID 5317

Download: Municipal Water System Bylaws (.PDF)

Download:  2019 Consumer Confidence Report (.PDF)

Cavendish Planning Commission

Tim Calabrese
Dan Churchill
Mark Huntley
Wendy Regier
John Saydek
Etienne Ting, Chair

Meeting Time
1st Wednesday of the month
6:30PM, Town Office

The Planning Commission consists of a seven-member volunteer board appointed by the Select Board. Each member serves a three-year term. Currently there are no subdivision regulations or zoning ordinances in the Town of Cavendish. However, an Act 250 permit may be required for commercial projects or subdivisions - contact a State of Vermont permit specialist for advice on determining what permits you may need for your building project.

Recent Minutes & Agendas

Board of Civil Authority

The Board of Civil Authority is made up of the Select Board members, the Town Clerk, and the Justices of the Peace.  They meet once annually for an organizational meeting in the spring and then throughout the year as needed for property assessment appeals.

Recent Agendas & Notices

Energy Committee

Committee Members

Brendan McNamara
Peter LaBelle
Cheryl Leiner
Mary Ormrod
Karen Wilson

The Cavendish Energy Committee works with the town, its residents and businesses to increase energy conservation and efficiency, with the goals of reducing costs and encouraging the prudent use of renewable resources over fossil fuels.

For more information on the Energy Committee’s Actions, Current Projects, Annual Reports and Contact information please click here.

2019 Energy Committee Survey - Please click here to Download

Recent Agendas & Notices

Telecommunications Committee

Committee Members

Margo Caulfield
Katie Hamlin
Bruce McEnaney
Kem Phillips
Ignat Solzhenitsyn

The Telecommunications Committee was formed in 2014 to investigate ways to improve the quality, reliability, and speed of telecommunications available to Cavendish residents.  It has engaged with residents, conducted surveys, initiated discussions with state agencies and private foundations, and met with telephone, cable, and wireless companies in its ongoing effort to bring reliable high-speed internet to all residents of Cavendish.